Typeface Tuesdays: Essential typography books from brainpickings.org

Good morning Tuesday and all the promise you hold (no pressure but Monday and I weren’t getting along so well this week).

Today, I have an article from brainpickings.org on the 10 Essential Books on Typography. I have heard of a few of these books, but have only read Ellen Lupton’s Thinking With Type, which has become our class bible. I highly recommend this book as a reference guide you will want to keep close by as a beginner and throughout your career. She even has a TWT website (yes, I did just give the book an acronym…I’m “so DC,” I know) for more information. Lupton, a Copper Union graduate and the director of MICA’s MFA program since ’97, is a terrific typography resource with a number of websites and books.

What are you waiting for, start devouring these brain pickings…I know I’ve got some reading to catch up on.

Leave a Reply

