Midsummer break in the Hamptons…beaching it and as always, enjoying art

The East Hampton = a great midsummer vacay with more cultural delights to explore than anticipated.

I was just there this time last week with my family and boyfriend. It was truly a great vacation, and even with this little cold I’m fighting, I’m still beaming from all the fun. We stayed in a beautiful house with a pool and perfectly manicure lawn lined with Hydrangeas. Unexpectedly, the vibe was pretty laid back and cool. Other vacationers and the locals didn’t give off the intense New York feeling, except they do get away with charging city prices (20 buckaroos for six-pack Corona Light). It was great and we were able to truly relax. And there was plenty to get into beside beach activities. We hit up two farmers markets, kicked it in town (holy shopping and fun art galleries), visited Sag Harbor, checked out the nightlife (Talkhouse but of course), feasted like kings, caught up on some reading and played with my new Spotify account, and just enjoyed eachother’s company. The house drink for this year was a mango mojito compliments of my big bro who demonstrated its a true labor of love for the proper summer cocktail. Another major bonus — it wasn’t a gazillion degrees like it was in DC. One thing you do have to watch for is the ferocious waves which clobbered be when I couldn’t swim fast enough (recommendation: don’t wear strapless swimsuit tops) which prompted my dad to lecture me like I was 10 years old again.

While in Sag Harbor we checked out some stores (Collette is a crazy cool designer consignment shop which I had no good excuse to splurge on so I didn’t). We found this cool, the real-deal coffee shop which I don’t know if I ever caught its name. Hanging from the walls were recycled coffee bean bags transformed into canvases. I thought they were good-looking and wanted to share them. I can’t imagine it’s easy to paint on this rough texture and get clean forms, so it’s extra impressive. The first one is particularly cool and intricate. It reminds you that many things we use in our every day lives can be turned into art. Think beyond the obvious and you’ll see.

Leave a Reply

