Christened my fab new camera with a mega dose of DC Pride

After giving it some major thought, I took the plunge and bought my first semi-professional camera – the Canon G9!! It’s my new baby, and it’s beautiful. (No ugly babies up in here)

I realized when I started taking pictures for school and this blog that although I know little about the medium, I love photography. So I marched on over to Pro Photo (highly recommend), explained to the salesman what I was looking for and – ah, VIOLA! I chose it based on a recommendation from a friend (“It’s the one National Geographic uses”) and the salesman’s reinforcement (“It was used to take this panoramic picture of Obama’s inauguration, look at the clarity”). Basically the Canon G9 is just a much fancier point-and-shoot digital camera, so it’s not quite as advanced as a single-lens reflex (SLR). The one I ended up buying is second-hand but in terrific condition, and it came with a retro leather case, memory card, and two additional lenses. Just my speed and perfect for me.

I christened my camera at DC’s pride parade yesterday, and what a christening it was. It was a fun, rowdy day filled with happy gays, flashy drag queens, straight peeps with major pride, lots of dancing, and even more glitter. The pictures turned out great and I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.

This was truly an amazing weekend on so many levels. It’s going to be a great summer!

Leave a Reply

